Doyle Bramhall II — I’m Leaving

Really fine piece here.  Eric Clapton likes Doyle Bramhall II (his father passed away recently who was also a noted guitarist and drummer).  I brought up his work at Austin City Limits one evening, and his guitar work is splendid.  I am partial to the use of slides and his slide work towards the end of “I’m Leaving” is outstanding.  Bramhall’s voice is relatively low-key in projection, just enough force to make the lyrics truthful.  He is a left-handed guitarist.  His slide appears to me the Keb Mo slide.  I purchased mine down in Fredericksburg and it is superior to glass slides.  Doyle Bramhall II: here he is.

* * *

In the same evening, at Austin City Limits, here is Bramhall II with “Shape I’m In.”

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I will go and hear this. Thanks for the link.

    Reply
  1. Keb’ Mo’ – It Hurts Me Too « Throughhisown's Weblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

